Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Sign in

Timothy Swager, 2007 $500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize Winner

Building on his knowledge of organic chemistry, Timothy Swager, John D. MacArthur Professor of Chemistry and Head of the Department of Chemistry at the MIT, designs molecules with novel functions and applies them in the real world. Through advancements in molecular wires, Swager has invented a new class of highly sensitive materials, which are employed in explosives detection and have potential applications in healthcare, environmental protection, and security. Swager received the $500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize for his inventiveness, illustrated in this video profile.

Comments (0)

It looks like no one has posted a comment yet. You can be the first!

You need to log in, in order to post comments.

$500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize

$500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize

Category: Innovation/Invention | Updated 8 months ago

July 25, 2008 10:35
All Rights Reserved (What is this?)
Additional Files

24906 times

More from $500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize

Sangeeta Bhatia, 2014 Lemelson-MIT Prize Winner

Sangeeta Bhatia, 2014 Lemelson-MIT ...

Added 8 months ago | 00:04:43 | 717 views

Douglas Engelbart, 1997 Lemelson-MIT Prize Winner, Douglas Engelbart

Douglas Engelbart, 1997 Lemelson-MI...

Added almost 3 years ago | 00:04:13 | 1968 views

Joseph DeSimone, 2008 $500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize Winner

Joseph DeSimone, 2008 $500,000 Leme...

Added almost 8 years ago | 00:05:26 | 20014 views

Chad Mirkin, 2009 $500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize Winner

Chad Mirkin, 2009 $500,000 Lemelson...

Added almost 7 years ago | 00:05:42 | 7839 views